There’s More Than One Way To Skin A Cat

cat kitty

Whoa, what does that even mean?

I can tell you what it means to me. It means sitting in a rolling chair in the middle of the room and using several straight attachments to vacuum my floor. It means cooking a meal in 5 minute intervals. It means allowing more time for the simplest task, a lot more time. It means mostly sitting in the shower to get clean. Quite simply, it means finding different ways to do things that used to come so easily.

Skinning a cat, it seems, would be a fairly challenging task. Such is my life. And, if there is more than one way, then those options need to be explored. No sense sitting around telling myself I can’t do it. Grab that kitty by the tail and get to work.

In my circles of chronic illness, people call it ‘finding a new normal’. I never really like that term, even though it describes it accurately. Maybe it’s my distaste for all things trendy. Maybe I prefer the ol’ timer proverbs of my parents generation. Maybe the irreverence of skinning a cat is just too twisted to pass up. I do appreciate a bit of sick humor.

Regardless of how that became an expression, I can honestly say I have applied it, figuratively not literally, and have found many new ways to skin a cat.

This entry was posted in Living with Sarcoidosis and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to There’s More Than One Way To Skin A Cat

  1. Cameron Von St James says:

    Hey I have a quick question about your blog, could you email me when you have a chance? Thanks! -Cam

Comments are welcome

